not by bread alone

by Jeff Rainwater, who should
probably be doing something else right now,
21 March 2017.

IMG_1088

For all the contemporary poets
I read who inspire me:

It’s noon-time hour,
and here I’m stuck
in my office chair,
staring at screen,
Legs stiff, back aching,
devouring words scrolling
in endless march:
poetic verse, delivering
smiles and laughter,
tears and rending of heart,
all my soul deeply craves.
Neither man, nor woman,
can live by bread alone.

Yet my stomach grumbles,
demanding it’s turn.
Bread will be good too.

Leave a Reply

