we are God’s garden

by Jeff Rainwater, 20 April 2017, Cheyenne, WY

Dark, fertile, earth hides
under my fingernails.
Compost’s sharp scent
fills my nostrils.
Aching back protests
a good day’s effort
in my garden.

I become aware
sometimes new life
needs a little help.

And I wonder,
Does God enjoy
getting hands
dirty as I do?

We are God’s garden.

“the Lord God formed the human
from the topsoil of the fertile land
and blew life’s breath into his nostrils.
The human came to life.”

-Genesis 2:7, CEB

One thought on “we are God’s garden

  1. Pingback: Bereshith 2 Man and Woman placed in a Royal Garden – Jeshua-ists

Leave a Reply

